No Churn Sticky Chocolate Ice Cream

Ever since I discovered Jeni’s recipe book, I have been making ice cream her way with great success. With no eggs involved, I eliminated the hassle of watching over my pot of egg-milk mixture, guessing if it is gonna get curdled if I leave it over the fire for one more second. I also totally agree with Jeni that the presence of eggs distracts the true flavors of the ice cream.  Though the book highly recommended using the Cuisinart ice cream maker,  I still hand churn my homemade ice cream recipes, worrying that if the process gets any easier, no amount of Zumba classes can save my waistline.

This milk chocolate ice cream recipe from Jeni’s book was one that I had planned to try.  Then, I came across it posted on Cup of Jo as a no churning required recipe.  Feeling lazy, I decided to try it out after another food blog, Things We Made, also made it without churning.  Both blogs tweaked the recipe, I first noted, with the changing order of the ingredients added, particularly the tapioca starch slurry.  I decided to stick to the book’s instructions instead, as my earlier experiences with Jeni’s recipes seemed positive.  The end result of the ice cream after freezing for 4 hours was amazing: sticky, with fudge like consistency.  I managed to roll it into a ball and served it on a waffle cone.  After one night, it froze rock hard, but by just leaving it out on the counter for less than 5 minutes, it will return to the soft serve consistency.   At the back of my mind, I reminded myself that without churning, the volume is not expanded without air being beaten in, so one scoop of this is equivalent to almost 2 scoops of churned ones.  I had my later servings in an espresso cup to watch and control the quantity consumed, cos it was really addictive.

Recipe for No Churn Sticky Chocolate Ice Cream – adapted from “Jeni’s Spendid Ice Creams at Home”
- 1 cup whole milk
- 1/4 cup heavy cream
- 2/3 cup sugar
- 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
- 1 cup evaporated milk
- 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
- 2 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
- 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon tapioca starch
- 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt

Prepare:

Mix tapioca starch with 2 tablespoons of milk to form slurry mixture. Set aside.

A pot filled with ice water.

Cook:

In a 4- quart saucepan, whisk remaining whole milk, heavy cream, evaporated milk, sugar, light corn syrup until combined.  Set the pan over medium heat and bring to a boil, add cocoa powder, whisk to mix well.  Continue with rolling boil for 4 minutes.  Keep stirring.

Take off heat and gradually whisk in tapioca-milk slurry mixture.  Return to boil over medium high heat and cook, stirring until mixture slightly thickened, about 1 minute.  Remove from heat.

Whisk chopped chocolate and salt into the hot milk mixture, till chocolate completely melt.

Pour mixture into a heatproof zip lock bag, seal and submerge in the pot of ice water until chilled.

Once the mixture has cooled, transfer it to a storage container and place in the coldest part of the fridge.  Freeze for at least 4 hours or until firm to scoop.

Leave a Reply

